Top 5 Albums That You Listened to During Your High School Years!

Welcome to a music Monday! Today’s top 5 list will be music albums that you listened to during your high school years.

High school was a time that you either loved or hated and the music that you listened to often tells the story. For this list, the albums did not have to come out during your high school years, they would just be the ones you listened to during your high school years. I think it will be fascinating to see the difference between guys and girls, and the influence of WHERE and WHEN you went to high school. Also, feel free to include Greatest Hits albums if that is the actual disc or tape you listened to. Anyway, lets meet the guest lister!

For this list, my guest will be Adam Boucher. He is a friend of mine that went to high school in Wisconsin and eventually went to college at UW-Oshkosh. He recently moved out to Los Angeles.

This list was his idea that he submitted via the website user idea page which you can find here: https://thetop5five.wordpress.com/user-ideas/ He was the first person to do this, so if you want to submit your own idea for a list, I will post it! You can find Adam’s personal blog here: http://urbancharlie.wordpress.com/

Here is what Adam writes and here is his list:

For me, high school was a kind of crummy time, the same story of feeling stuck and wondering when adulthood would begin. The soundtrack of those four years  has stuck with me to this day, rife with memories, good and bad.

5. Third Eye Blind by Third Eye Blind (1997) – This album was all over the radio and you couldn’t get away from it. For a while, I hated it, because it was all you would hear, but then the catchiness of “Semi Charmed Life” grew on me. I bought the CD, and learned to love every track.

4. Americana by The Offspring (1998) – This was my rocker back in the day. Similiar story to 3EB, “Pretty Fly (For A White Guy) was on the radio every tenth song, it seemed. I bought it on recommendation from my cousin, Jim, and it stuck with me.

3. The Miseducation of Lauryn Hill (1998) – My first taste of Neo Soul. I fell in love with Lauryn’s voice when listening to the Fugees, and had to get her first solo effort. I loved the sound of this album, and this was the gateway to Erykah Badu, Jill Scott and many other artists I would grow to love.

2. Enema of the State by Blink-182 (1999) – I have always been a sucker for pop punk, and this album hit me at just the right time. Nowadays, it’s a little dated, but I think this CD didn’t leave my CD changer in my room for three years straight.

1. Exile on Coldharbour Lane by Alabama 3 (1997) – My main source for pretty motherfuckin’ country acid house music. I still listen to this album today, start to finish, with no skips, and I love every second of it.

(Note from the editor: You might recognize this song as the opening theme to the show The Sopranos. I implore you to check out the rest of this album. None of the other songs are really this dark or heavy. It is a super fun album)

Honorable mentions to Nimrod by Green Day, Devil Without a Cause by Kid Rock, Who is Jill Scott, Words and Sounds Vol. 1 by Jill Scott, and Comfort Eagle by Cake for being CDs with good tunes, but not full albums of love like the Top 5.

Most of Adam’s albums are from around the 90’s/2000’s. Mine tend to be older albums. Here is my Top 5 albums of my high school years:

5. River of Dreams by Billy Joel – I loved this album as a kid, but it sort of fell out of favor with me as I discovered other music. However, for some reason, I always went back to it. It was a constant. Maybe not always in the foreground, but it was always there ready to be played. It was solid. Singing the title track with my sister Lindsay was our “Bohemian Rhapsody” moment.

4. Exhile On Main Street by The Rolling Stones – The Rolling Stones were a band that just opened my eyes to what music could be. I responded way more to them than I ever did the Beatles and to this day I still love the band and especially this album. It is just a matter of time until someone submits their favorite Stones songs or albums, and this album and song will probably make either of those lists for me!

3. Enema of the State by Blink 182 – Who DIDN’T have this album? To me, this was the quintessential album of my high school generation. This was at the height of Blink’s popularity and the childish songs were exactly what an adolescent boy would fall in love with. I recently just listened to this album for the first time in years and I still remember every word to every song.

2. Appetite for Destruction by Guns and Roses – Good lord, one of the best albums of all time. Hard rocking, in your face guitar with the beautiful and raw vocals of Axl Rose. This album is hit after hit after hit after hit. It is only a matter of time until we do a top 5 singers on this site, and rest assured that Axl will make my list.

1. The Doors by The Doors – Really, this could be any single Doors album, but I will choose the first for this list. The Doors are a band that I liken to the movie The Goonies, you have to experience them at the right moment in your life, or the magic and feeling will miss the mark and you will just feel indifferent. This album hit me at the most perfect time in my life and influenced me for better and for always. It opened the doors (pun intended) to all my other music tastes moving forward.

(Full Disclosure: I had a ton of fun making this list. It was a great trip down memory lane as well! Thanks again to Adam to submitting it.)

What are your top 5 albums of your high school times? Share your list with others down in the comments area!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

