Top 25 Most Devoted Fan Bases!

Vulture.com created a list of the 25 most devoted Fan bases for media form entertainment. Everything from books, music and movies, this list tries to cover it all. I personally belong to 11 of these, and I am not ashamed of that. You can find the full list here. But here are some pretty cool stats for some these things:

The Colbert Report drew in more young viewers for Republican convention coverage than actual cable news networks.

-Bruce Springsteen has sold more than 120 million albums worldwide. He has won twenty Grammys, an Oscar, and a Golden Globe; honored by the Kennedy Center in 2009.

-Trueblood: Charlaine Harris’s best-selling Southern Vampire Mysteries now twelve novels long; HBO’s adaptation network’s most popular series sinceThe Sopranos.

-Star Trek is Quite possibly the most popular TV series ever made, spawning five spinoff TV series, eleven feature films (which grossed $1.3 billion worldwide, with J.J. Abrams’s reboot sequel due next summer), novels, comics, video games, and a seemingly bottomless supply of fan fiction. Influence has permanently embedded in vernacular and society: living long and prospering; setting things on stun; claiming resistance is futile. Also: flip phones? A Trek idea.

-Fans of Joss Whedon call themselves “Whedonites”; a smaller subset of Firefly fans call themselves Browncoats.

-Doctor Who holds Guinness World Record as world’s longest-running science-fiction television show, having debuted in 1963; currently broadcast in about 50 countries; current run launched in 2005, has won 30 BAFTAs, and six Hugo Awards; most downloaded series in the U.S. on iTunes in 2011.

-Lord of the Rings Saga considered the third best-selling novel ever written (J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Hobbit is fourth), with more than 150 million copies sold; films grossed more than $2.91 billion worldwide and garnered 30 Academy Award nominations, winning seventeen, including Return of the King’s Best Picture win.

-Approximately 500,000 people around the globe listed Jedi Knight as their religion on official census forms.

-There isn’t one umbrella moniker for fans of A Song of Ice and Fire, but various fans dub themselves the Brotherhood Without Banners, the Bookwalkers (viewers of the TV series who have read the books), the Unsullied (viewers of the TV series who have not read the books), and the GRRuMblers (fans who wish George R.R. Martin would write faster).

Advertisements
Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: