Elvis Presley Sings About The 2012 Minnesota Vikings!

I try to stay somewhat balanced about the NFL. But, if you haven’t figured it out, the Minnesota Vikings are my favorite team. That still didn’t stop me from saying they weren’t all that good after week 4 of the season. And then again after they stumbled in the middle of the year. But they have come on super strong now and, while most people say they don’t deserve a playoff birth, they did anything but back into the dance. They smoked 3 teams in a row before facing their division rivals the Packers this past Sunday. That game was ended up being the single best NFL game of the year, with the Vikings winning on a last second field goal by rookie kicker Blair Walsh.

The Vikings have earned a shot at the Packers in Lambeau field this Saturday night.

So, what is with Elvis? I think Elvis does such a wonderful job singing about things he loves…and Elvis was a huge football fan. He regularly played pick up games when he could, and was a huge fan of the Cleveland Browns. So why not sing about football? I suppose that even if you aren’t a football fan, you can still enjoy these classic Elvis songs! Enjoy!

The Promised Land – A cover of a Chuck Berry Song, this frantic sounding song is all about trying to get somewhere…in this case, I imagine it is about the young Vikings squad trying to reach the Super Bowl. Can they do it? Probably not. But I have been doubting them for a good long time now and maybe it is time I start to believe in them…

Suspicious Minds – Ugh, I am caught in a trap with this team. I love them but I also hate them and I hate loving them. But, as anyone who has ever loved anyone, you just have to do it. You can’t just change things. So, here we go again…the Vikings have my hopes up again like they did in 2009. And back then I wasn’t suspicious of them at all. This year, a little different. The defense is far too young. The Quarterback is far too inconsistent  We have no WR’s at all. And Adrian Peterson can’t possibly run through 9 and 10 man fronts in the playoffs…But, this team still has me caught in it’s trap and I cannot walk out.

It’s Now Or Never – Ok, so maybe for this team as a whole the window won’t close this year. But this is probably their best chance. A fairly healthy team (minus Percy Harvin), they have a ton of momentum and are playing with house money. They have been playing elimination games for 4 weeks. No one is taking them seriously. Jared Allen, Chad Greenway, and Adrian Peterson are getting no younger. Perhaps now is the best time to make a good run…because like so many other teams that thought they would stay at the top (Cardinals, Steelers, etc.) it needs to happen now or it might never happen ever.

Can’t Help Falling In Love – Well, like the song says, “Wise men say only fools rush in”. Maybe that is why it took me a long time to personally buy my favorite team having a chance. But as the season progressed, I couldn’t help falling in love with this team. The rookies (Kahlil and Harrison Smith) are keepers. Jerome Felton might be the best blocker in the NFL. Even Ponder is starting to figure it out. And then of course, the whole nation just couldn’t help falling in love with Adrian Peterson. Never has a Vikings player warrented so much respect from other fans. I have gone on record saying Randy Moss is one of my favorite players ever, but other people hated him. They respected his talent, but hated him. No one hates Adrian Peterson. Most everyone was actually cheering for him to break Eric Dickerson’s record. Although he fell 9 yards short, everyone still fell in love with him.

Too Much – Yup, I love this team too much. I need to stop, I know. But it wont happen. And now they got me started and I hope they do not leave me broken heart’ed.

A Little Less Conversation – Well, I think it is time to just get down to it! Screw the talking heads, screw the ‘experts’ at NFL.com and ESPN, and let us get inbetween the tackles and start playing! First game (and possibly last game) is Saturday night against the Green Bay Packers at Lambeau Field. Come Sunday, you might find me crying in the chapel, otherwise, I will be attending a different type of church:

 

IMAG0449

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. jumpingpolarbear

     /  January 5, 2013

    The King is gone, but he’s not forgotten!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

