Chris Kluwe Expected to be Cut by Minnesota Vikings!

We have covered a lot of what Chris Kluwe has done on this site. You can find some of his funny articles here and here and here. He also happens to play for the Vikings, who happen to be this writers favorite team. But news has come out that the Vikings are ready to cut ties with the punter. The Vikings are citing that Kluwe’s age, salary and Jeff Locke’s (Vikings drafted a new punter in this years draft) talent all are factors in Kluwe’s release.

Of course, some people are wondering if that Kluwe’s off field interests and antics are the real reason the Vikings are letting him go. I personally hope that it is not. Kluwe is quick to point out that he has been an above average punter in this league for years now. But the Vikings seem to want to have a “quiet” punter. I think this is unfortunate in a lot of ways. One, it just sort of stereotypes the NFL even more as the “not fun league” and also makes it hard for players in this league to share opinions and ideas and even just enjoy their life. The NFL is not and should never be considered equals to the military or anything like that. It is a game, a sport. I suppose Kluwe has some great lines about this when he says that he has no regrets being who he is;

“I think the sacrifice would be worth it,” Kluwe told Chip Scoggins of the Star Tribune. “Now, I would hope that I would get the chance to play football again, because I think I can still play. But if it ends up being something that costs me that position, I think making people aware of an issue that is causing children to commit suicide is more important than kicking a leather ball.”

Kluwe particularly has been vocal in his support for same sex-marriage rights. He is coming out with a book this summer and believes it’s silly that he’s been admonished publicly, sometimes by coaches, for having other interests.

“When I’m at the facility, I’m concentrating 100 percent on my job because that’s what I’m being paid to do,” Kluwe said. “But when I’m away from the facility, I’m no longer at my job. I get to live my life. This idea that you have to spend 24 hours a day thinking about your job frankly is unhealthy. It’s insane.”

I agree 100%. I do not think the Vikings “botched” this whole situation…I am saying they missed an opportunity to become something more than just an NFL football team. They could have stood by and supported one of their own and that persons issues. Instead, they did what every NFL team does…cut the player and move on. Is it better for football operations? Maybe. Is it right? I suppose that is up to you.

I think Kluwe will end up punting some place else rather quickly. Teams hire felons who kill people and dogs and get DUI’s and beat women…I am sure a team can handle someone who likes playing World of Warcraft…

 

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. You should be a part of a contest for one of the highest quality sites online.
    I will highly recommend this site!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

